Books And Chocolate | The Transporter

Daily Prompt: Tell us about a sensation — a taste, a smell, a piece of music — that transports you back to childhood.

For me, I suppose it would be a smell. Not sure I can describe it accurately, but it’s something akin to a cross between chocolaty-sweetness and the musk of old book pages.

9686181-open-old-book-has-a-graphic-star-image-at-the-top-of-the-book

Whenever I come across this smell – in second-hand bookshops most of the time these days – I will be reminded of the first time I read a mystery compilation by Alfred Hitchcock in the school library, way back when I was seven or so (sadly, I’ve yet to find another copy of that book). Or the times when I’d be sitting next to my mother while she read some ancient-looking tome.

I am also, interestingly enough, reminded of my childhood bike. The handlebars had a similar smell, for whatever reason, and so I’ll also be reminded of the times I spent riding my bike and pretending it was a car. Ahh yes, childhood.

Suffice to say, this smell definitely evokes various nostalgic memories for me.

This entry was posted in Reflective and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Books And Chocolate | The Transporter

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Transporter « Mama Bear Musings

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Transporting Back To Youth through Taste Smell and Music | My Daily Prompt Blog

  3. Pingback: Sawdust and Hay for Dinner Today | The Daily Dilly Dally

  4. Pingback: TV Heaven | paul scribbles

  5. Pingback: We’ll Never Smell That Way Again | The Jittery Goat

  6. estelea says:

    Lovely 🙂 sweet memories, wish we could have stocked them in tiny bottles, to open from times to times..

Leave a Reply

