Judgment Day | First Impressions and Eye-Catchers

Daily Prompt: If you were to judge your favourite book by its cover, would you still read it?

I can’t say as I have any one favourite book in particular, but definitely all my favourites were initially judged by such, so yes I would still read it. Unless otherwise recommended to me, a book’s cover is very important in my selection of reading material. If the cover is unappealing, the chances of me picking it up are very slim, no matter how great a book it is.

I know, I know. Don’t judge a book by its cover. Not to mention various books have only gained good covers (or lack thereof) over time, or due to popularity. Still, that’s how I select my readings – that, or by its title. The story could be a great epic about a hero’s tragic tale or some dark and gritty crime syndicate, but if it has unicorns and rainbows on it, I’ll be staying far away from it regardless.

Naked in Death by J.D. Robb

Now take for example one of my favourite books (or rather, series):

The first book in the series, I was drawn in by its simplistic design and contrast of colours. One nine-hour plane trip later and I was officially in love with the books – and after that, with most of the author’s works.

Point is, especially on the shelves of an airport news-agency, if it wasn’t the cover, I would never have even picked up the book, least of all read it and come to love it.

I could probably come up with a dozen more examples, but bottom line answer to the prompt is that, yes I would read it even if I judged it by its cover.

This entry was posted in Reflective and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Judgment Day | First Impressions and Eye-Catchers

  1. Pingback: Never Judge a Book by its Cover | بيسان

  2. Pingback: Why I Don’t Judge a Book By Its Cover | Stuphblog

  3. Pingback: Wednesday Words – Judgment Day | Tommia's Tablet

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Judge Your Favorite Book By It’s Cover | My Daily Prompt Blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | My Atheist Blog

  6. snosler says:

    The colors are beautiful in this cover – the blue looks so vibrant against the black. It is a very alluring cover. Anyway, stopping in to see what others wrote for the Prompt – hope you have time to visit soon and read my take on it – Cheers!

    • ncdreamer says:

      Hey, thanks for reading!
      Yeah, the colours were what drew me to it initially 🙂
      Hopefully I’ll have time to have a look at other people’s posts later, still have a full day ahead for now…

  7. Pingback: Sometimes A Picture Or Book Cover Is Worth Three Words – “Not For Me” | The Jittery Goat

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Judgment Day | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

