A Part of the Family

Daily Prompt: Do you have animals in your life? If yes, what do they mean to you? If no, why have you opted not to?

The answer to that question would be a resounding yes. I’ve wanted to have a dog for as long as I can remember, and nearly two years ago now my wish finally came true. My dog Reiko is now two years old, and I couldn’t imagine life without her.

20130320-144925.jpg

She has so many human-like traits it’s almost as if I’ve suddenly gained a little sister. And with that, as you’d expect, there’s suddenly a lot of responsibilities too: looking after and playing with her, giving her her meals and going on walks, etc…

She can be troublesome and infuriating, but I wouldn’t give it up for the world. It’s probably really obvious to all fellow pet owners, but having Reiko – and having someone waiting for me when I come home – has made my life so much better. So to sum it up, Reiko is an important part of the family to me.

Some other menageries:
Daily Post: Menagerie | tel-uh-vizh-uh-ner-ee
Travels With Ole Duke | The Jittery Goat
Daily Prompt: Menagerie | Joe’s Musings
Identifying Andresa | Daily Prompt: Menagerie | likereadingontrains
Extended family out there | The Nameless One
My dog thinks she’s a model. | Little Red Jenn
Sophie Dog! | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
Daily Prompt: Menagerie – Dogs | tirochelle
Daily Prompt: Menagerie | littlemisswordy

This entry was posted in Reflective and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Part of the Family

  1. Pingback: Ménage à dix | The Daily Dilly Dally

  2. Pingback: Oh, my dog. | The Hempstead Man

Leave a Reply

