I’ll Plan to Take Over the World…Eventually

Daily Prompt: What are you more comfortable with — routine and planning, or laissez-faire spontaneity?

I think that, for most, the answer to this question is like the answer to ‘good and evil’; we’re not wholly good, but that hardly means we’re the devil incarnate. I’ll admit that there are all types of people in the world leaning towards either end of the scale, but for me – and surely for many others – it’s a moderation in-between.

As a generally laid-back person, I can safely say that I go with the flow more than I stick to plans, which drives some of the people around me mad. Although I’ll go along with plans, I’m not to be relied on in the actual planning stage. I’ll get things done by the time they need to be, but I won’t plan how much of it I’ll do a day either.

That’s not to say I don’t like my routines as much as the next person. If I didn’t have a general idea of how the day will go (work, dinner, read a book, computer, sleep, etc…) I’d find myself at a loss on what to do with myself. I’m definitely more happy with ‘Let’s meet at 11-ish at ___’ than ‘Let’s hang out sometime somewhere’. I’m just not too much for a minute-dictation of my life (8am – breakfast; 9am – work, zzz…)

So back to the basic question: routine and planning, or laissez-faire spontaneity? If I had to choose, I’d say laissez-faire spontaneity.

Related Articles:
Daily Prompt: In Between | بيسان
I plan to be spontaneous next Thursday at 3:30… |Q the Adult
No Plan Survives Contact With the Enemy | Matthew Vett’s Development Blog
Best Laid Plans… Whatever! | The Jittery Goat
My best laid plans always go astray | thelissachronicles
A Dash of Planning, and Mix in Some Spontaneity | Stuphblog

This entry was posted in Reflective and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

